INTERSECTIONS: Writers’ Series – Rachel Klebanov

Usher-usher-26794327-1024-768

By RACHEL KLEBANOV
Staff Writer

IMG_2592_2What’s up Intersections?! My name is Rachel Klebanov and I hail from our very own Princeton, New Jersey, born and raised.  I am a prospective Psychology major, interested in examining visual arts and art history through a psychological/neuroscience lens. Current life status includes singing bass-line with the Princeton University Wildcats, dealing with books at Technical Services, learning Russian, and taking long walks with my iPod in tow. As for Intersections, I like to make playlists and do Terrace Previews. Hit the jump to learn more about my take on music and check out some personal playlists. 

My music taste today is pretty much all over the place, but I would say they span across three general genres: R&B/soul, Hiphop/Rap, and Rock (which is basically like, everything, I know). My music conquest began in elementary school, when I listened to 60s rock, 70s Motown, and even some 80s disco—basically anything I could find from my parents’ dusty collection. I also remember hearing music from the eating clubs, crazily enough. (Yes, I am that local.) It must have been 2003 when I first heard a muffled Usher’s “Yeah!” coming from Prospect Avenue.

Throughout middle school and the beginning of high school, I, like any other 12-15 year old, became immersed in the fascinating world of the radio and the Top 40 hits; to this day I still give them a listen. I found that I was always more drawn to the R&B or hip-hop hits, especially since I started taking hip-hop dance classes. (Holler at my boys Usher and Mario). I entered, and exited, a brief Latin-rhythm loving phase, during which I listened to a lot of Pitbull and Shakira. But I graduated from that and began to focus more on rap, really getting into R. Kelly, Jay-Z, etc. Somehow, I transferred from that to being curious about nearly opposite music: the eeriness of Radiohead, the baroque pop quality of Arcade Fire. By the end of high school, all of these tastes melded together into a cumulative appreciation for a vast majority of artists, bands, and DJs.

Arcade+Fire+light

I know reading about how someone’s music taste developed is probably not the most interesting thing ever, so here are some playlists! A sampling of favorite songs from over the ages, and a couple of my favorite tracks right now.

17 thoughts on “INTERSECTIONS: Writers’ Series – Rachel Klebanov

  1. Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template
    or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

  2. I was suggested this website by way of my cousin.

    I’m not positive whether this put up is written by him as no one else recognize such distinctive about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thank you!

  3. I think this is one of the most vital information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  4. Hello, Neat post. There is a problem with your site in
    internet explorer, might check this? IE still is the marketplace leader and a good component to other
    folks will miss your wonderful writing because of
    this problem.

  5. I truly love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you make this site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own site and would like to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thanks!

  6. you are actually a excellent webmaster. The site
    loading pace is incredible. It seems that you are doing any unique trick.
    In addition, The contents are masterpiece.

    you have performed a fantastic job on this subject!

  7. Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog in the
    near future but I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  8. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I
    came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Excellent blog and amazing style and design.

  9. Awesome blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you suggest
    starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thanks a lot!

  10. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just too great. I actually like what you’ve acquired here,
    really ljke what you aare saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it
    smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a terrific site.

Leave a comment