No P/D/F and the Liberal Arts Education

By BECKY KREUTTER

A “Princeton Education” is thought to be more than just a depth of knowledge about one subject to send you off on a career path, more than the sum of information gained in individual classes – Princeton should offer students a liberal arts education. Indeed, from the first moment you are welcomed to campus in the University chapel you are told that you are here to take advantage of the wide range of resources and talent in any and all of the Princeton departments. That’s why we have distribution requirements, you are told. That’s why we have the p/d/f option. Explore, experiment, stretch your mind.

But what happens instead when you can’t?

With the allowance of classes with no p/d/f option, Princeton excludes certain classes from the liberal arts education.

Consider two of my friends, who recently selected courses for next semester. One, a humanities student who has taken practically all of his classes to date in the humanities, was surprised to see COS 126 only offered for a grade next fall. The other, an engineer who finally found herself with an extra spot in her schedule, was daunted when a classics class did not offer the p/d/f.

Now, there are certainly reasons why a class would be offered without p/d/f regardless of the University ideal for a liberal arts education. COS 126 may be trying to keep some out of a major that has recently increased rapidly in numbers, while the classics professor may wish to attract students who are willing to invest time into the numerous readings and who might be otherwise disincentivized without the grade as a motivator.

However, as both of my friends mentioned, they felt excluded from new fields by the no p/d/f option. They weren’t trying to take upper-level courses that would have required previous knowledge. Both were interested in introductory classes in a new field. This is not to say that they couldn’t take those classes for a grade. But with the reality that many employers weed out based on GPA, it becomes a gamble for some to pursue a liberal arts education instead of focusing in the area in which they are most interested – and perhaps most successful.

In the end, the humanities major decided to take that risk and enroll in COS 126. The engineer decided the liberal arts education was not worth the gamble.

23 thoughts on “No P/D/F and the Liberal Arts Education

  1. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive
    a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she
    has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  2. Heya! My name is Frances and When I just desired to say your blog
    is great! It truly is surprising simply because
    I use to have a web site that almost had an identical url: http://thedailyprincetonian.
    wordpress.com/2013/04/26/no-pdf-and-the-liberal-arts-education/ mine was only a few characters different.
    Nonetheless, I am a big fan of your site and if you ever want a guest post you should email me personally at:
    frances.sipes@gmail.com. I absolutely adore writing!

  3. Howdy! It seems as though we both have a interest for the same
    thing. Your blog, “No P/D/F and the Liberal Arts Education | The Daily Princetonian” and mine are
    very similar. Have you ever considered writing a guest write-up for a similar website?
    It will unquestionably help gain publicity to your website (my site recieves a lot of targeted traffic).
    If you might be interested, email me at:
    bradmontague@yahoo.de. Thanks for your time

  4. Excellent blog! Have you got any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Many thanks!

  5. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 4G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  6. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it
    and checking back frequently!

  7. Hi there! I hope you don’t mind but I decided to publish your website: https://thedailyprincetonian.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/no-pdf-and-the-liberal-arts-education/ to my on-line directory website. I used, “No P/D/F and the Liberal Arts Education | The Daily Princetonian” as your web site title. I hope this is okay with you. In the event you’d like me to change the title or perhaps remove
    it entirely, e-mail me at linwoodhealy@gmail.
    com. Thanks a ton.

  8. Thanks! for the marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may
    be a great writer. I will ensure that I bookmark this
    weblog and definitely will return later in life.
    I need to encourage yourself to continue your outstanding posts, have a nice day!

  9. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the
    same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

  10. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

  11. Great website you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any message boards that
    cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Many thanks!

  12. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if
    blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  13. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  14. Hello! This is the fourth time visiting now and I really just wanted to say
    I truley fancy looking at your blog website. I have decided to bookmark it at
    delicious.com with your title: No P/D/F and the Liberal Arts Education | The Daily Princetonian
    and your Website address: http://thedailyprincetonian.

    wordpress.com/2013/04/26/no-pdf-and-the-liberal-arts-education/.
    I hope this is all right with you, I’m making an attempt to give your fantastic blog a bit more exposure. Be back shortly.

  15. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  16. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .

    NET from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s keeps bothering. I’ve been working with WordPress on several websites for about 7 months
    and i am concerned about switching to an alternative platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my
    wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  17. Hey there! I hope you’ll be able to answer my question. I’m interested in a premium WP theme, however I have no idea how to know if the one I select is going to be suitable
    for cellular devices. What are some strategies you can give me about what to look for with regards to colors and background and issues like that?

    I usually check out websites via my iPhone 4S, and I’m going to bet that quite a few people are just like me in that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the post thou.

  18. I’m curious to find out what blog system you happen to be working with? I’m having some small security
    issues with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any solutions?

  19. Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

