Sports Editors Picks: Women’s Waterpolo at the CWPA Southern Championship

By THE DAILY PRINCETONIAN SPORTS STAFF

The women’s water polo team heads into the CWPA Southern Championship in Providence, R.I. with a 5-0 conference record and hopes of making the NCAA tournament for the second year in a row (and the second time in program history). But will they win their division? Here’s what the sports editors think:

Damir: Southern Division Champions

I believe the Tigers will ride their momentum to win their second straight Southern Division Championship. The Tigers are the top seed for the tournament, and will face Bucknell in the first round, a team they just beat 14-5 in the team’s regular season finale, coming back from an early 4-1 deficit. The Tigers have not lost to a southern division opponent this year and I don’t see that changing this weekend. The Tigers have played many of the best teams in the nation to help prepare them for postseason play, and I’m willing to say that the Tigers will show what they have learned by winning their games by an average of eight goals.

Stephen: Southern Division Champions

Not that they’ll be looking past this weekend, but I think the Tigers can be sure they have this one in the bag. They dealt with Bucknell and George Washington handily before they hit the hardest part of their schedule, consecutive weekend tournaments against the best teams in the country in California, and I think they’ve only gotten better since. I’m calling not only that Princeton wins the tournament but also that the defense, led by freshman phenom goalie Ashleigh Johnson, gets its second shutout of the year – possibly against GW, whom the Tigers beat 15-3 in D.C. last month.

Victoria: Knocked out in the finals

The Tigers are the No. 1 seed and the strong favorites heading into the tournament, but by no means do they have a lock on the championship. It was the same story last year: Princeton was almost dropped in the title game by Brown until Brittany Zwirner netted a goal with 2.4 seconds left on the clock to put the Tigers ahead 9-8 and clinch the championship. The Tigers will more likely than not play the second-seeded Bears once again for the title, and I’m not convinced Princeton will be able to pull off a repeat comeback should they fall into an early deficit.

10 thoughts on “Sports Editors Picks: Women’s Waterpolo at the CWPA Southern Championship

  1. Hi there fantastic website! Does running a blog like
    this require a lot of work? I’ve very little knowledge of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject however I simply needed to ask. Thanks a lot!

  2. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to provide one thing back and aid others such as you aided me.

  3. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome,
    nice written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  4. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice even as
    you amend your site, how can i subscribe for
    a weblog website? The account aided me a appropriate deal.
    I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast
    provided shiny transparent concept

  5. I believe what you published made a lot of sense. However, consider this, suppose you typed a catchier
    title? I am not saying your information is not good.
    , but what if you added something that makes people
    desire more? I mean Sports Editors Picks:
    Womens Waterpolo at the CWPA Southern Championship |
    The Daily Princetonian is a little vanilla. You could
    look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news headlines to grab people to open the links. You might try adding a video or a picture or two to get readers interested about everything’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

  6. I’m a writer from Vichy, France just submitted this to a coworker who was doing some sort of research on this. And she in fact bought me lunch only because I stumbled upon it for her… lol. Actually, allow me to paraphrase this…. Thanks for the meal… But anyway, thanx for spending some time to talk about this subject here on your site.

  7. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!

    I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

